DENIZENS OF THE DEEP. By Frank T. Bullen, F.R.G.S. (American edition of CREATURES OF THE SEA).

DENIZENS OF THE DEEP. By Frank T. Bullen, F.R.G.S. (American edition of CREATURES OF THE SEA).

Additional Information

Author Bullen (Frank Thomas). (1857-1915).
Book Code 42532
Book Description Ex library, usual faults. Slight wear to cloth, hinges tender else good working copy.
Book Cover Hardcover
Published Date 1904
Publisher F.H. Revell & Co.
Place New York.
Additional Information


(1904) 1904 1st US edition. 8vo. (150mm x 216mm). Pp430. Illustrated by Charles Livingston Bull & Theodore Carreras. Green pictorial cloth with tail of a whale on upper board, titled in gilt on spine & upper board.

This is the American edition of "Creatures of the Sea." "His vivid and glowing pictures of the wonderful and varied life of the Deep Sea possess a human and lifelike quality often absent from the elaborate descriptions of severer scientific and technical treatises." Frank T. Bullen was a merchant seaman who achieved great fame as well as the approval of contemporary literati with his first book, The Cruise of The Cachalot: Round The World After Sperm Whales (1898). This first book was exciting, fast-paced and full of detailed observations of fish, whales,and marine life and their behaviour. Bullen was struck by the utter lack of curiosity of the general run of seamen in the face of so much of obvious interest and wonder, not to mention direct relevance. It is this interest in natural history which sets Bullen apart from other sea-going memoirists of his era, and which ensured him a career once he had come ashore for good. His second book was The Log of A Sea Waif (1899), describing his first four years at sea as a child. His natural history notes which had no autobiographical relevance became, Creatures of the Sea: Being The Life Stories of Some Sea Beasts and Fishes (1904). The contents of this book were later divided into two and published separately by The Boy's Own Paper as, Stories of Whales and Other Sea Creatures (1920), and, Stories of Deep Sea Fish (1922).