A RIVER NEVER SLEEPS. By Roderick Haig-Brown.

More Views

A RIVER NEVER SLEEPS. By Roderick Haig-Brown.

Additional Information

Author Haig-Brown (Roderick Langmere). (1908-1976).
Book Code 23253
ISBN 9781905396139
Book Description Mint in slip-case. One of an edition limited to 600 copies.

(1946) 2010 new edition. 8vo (160 x 240mm). Ppvi,352,viii,ad. B/w illustrations by Louis Darling. Full green bonded leather gilt, silk marker, cloth slipcase.
Book Cover Hardcover
Published Date 2010
Publisher The Flyfisher's Classic Library.
Place Machynlleth, Powys.
Additional Information


With an Introduction by Nick Lyons and an Afterword by Thomas McGuane. Few books have captured the haunting world of music and rivers and of the sport they provide as well as A River Never Sleeps. Roderick L. Haig-Brown writes of fishing not just as a sport, but also as an art. He knows moving water and the life within it - its subtlest mysteries and perpetual delights. He is a man who knows fish lore as few people ever will, and the legends and history of a great sport. Month by month, he takes you from river to river, down at last to the saltwater and the sea: in January, searching for the steelhead in the dark, cold water; in May, fishing for bright, sea-run cutthroats; and on to the chilly days of October and the majestic run of spawning salmon. All the great joy of angling is here: the thrill of fishing during a thunderstorm, the sight of a river in freshet or a river calm and hushed, the suspense of a skillful campaign to capture some half-glimpsed trout or salmon of extraordinary size, and the excitement of playing and landing a momentous fish. A River Never Sleeps is one of the enduring classics of angling. It will provide a rich reading experience for all who love fishing or rivers. Roderick L. Haig-Brown was born in England and lived most of his life on Vancouver Island, Canada along the banks of the Campbell River. He died in 1976.